Clubs and Organizations

Academic UIL

Academic UIL is where students compete with other students in the area of academics. There are events for all the core content areas (math, science, social studies, language arts).  We have events for everyone’s talents — visit our website (acadowell.weebly.com) for the complete list of events and sign up today!  Contact Christina Branch at cbranch@mckinneyisd.net for more information.

 

 

Dowell Athletics

Interested in Athletics at DMS? Contact:

Boys Athletic Coordinator – Aubrey Scott (aedwards@mckinneyisd.net)

Girls Athletic Coordinator – Monica Taylor (motaylor@mckinneyisd.net)

Up-to-date information at www.dowellmiddleschool.net/athletics

 

Dowell Choir

Thank you for your interest in Dowell Middle School’s Choir Department! We are a wonderful group of students who share their passion for singing and leadership. Students will develop their skills as a singer, while also uncovering their potential for leadership. Don’t worry if you think you can’t sing- we will give you the tools to become a star! Students will participate in 4 concerts a year, as well as field trips, community outreach programs, and competitions. If you are interested in joining our wonderful organization, please contact Rebecca Sigman at rsigman@mckinneyisd.net or 469-302-6735.

 

Drama Club

Dowell Drama offers classes for 7th & 8th graders.  6th grade Drama Club meets on Wednesday at 8:15am.  Each fall and spring drama students can audition for a show.  Auditions for Advanced Dramas are February each year. Contact Collin Wells at cwells@mckinneyisd.net

 

Fellowship of Christian Athletes

FCA Friday Bible Study is a ministry that seeks to know Christ and make Him known to the students at Dowell Middle School.  We meet on Friday's at 8:15 in the Downstairs Collaboration Space (main hall). Come check us out any Friday!! Contact Jeremy Tillett at jtillett@mckinneyisd.net.

 

Lion Cheer

For information about the 7th and 8th Grade Dowell Middle School Lions Cheer Squad, contract ACCAA Cheer Coach Sarah Saxton at ssaxton@mckinneyisd.net

 

NJHS

National Junior Honor Society is a service oriented organization for 7th and 8th graders which strives to promote leadership and citizenship skills in its members. Membership in NJHS is granted after careful consideration and if applicants meet the membership requirements.  This membership is the highest honor that the school can bestow on a student because it acknowledges excellence, not just in one activity, but in all. Students are invited to join NJHS after they have exhibited these standards of excellence: Scholarship, Leadership, Service, Citizenship and Character. NJHS students are our future community leaders and, as such, are expected to be positive role models to their peers as well as to others. More information about how to apply to NJHS will be out soon. If you have any questions, please contact Melissa Hernandez at mehernandez@mckinneyisd.net

 

Soccer Club

Dowell Soccer Club is a co-ed soccer team for all students, 6-8. Our meetings and practices will be on Mondays starting in September (date will be announced). A couple of our annual events include a trip to an FC Dallas game, a tour of their facilities, and the Soccer Hall of Fame. For more information contact Tyler Boysen Tboysen@mckinneyisd.net.

 

 

Student Council

Student Council is a student-based civic organization designed to help promote school spirit and leadership among students. Council members will demonstrate leadership qualities by serving as good examples of behavior through their words and actions.  Contact Megan Bloedel at mbloedel@mckinneyisd.net for more information.  Student council website: http://www.dowellmiddleschool.net/student-council.html

 

Dowell Youth and Government

The Legislative section of the Texas Youth and Government Program gives high school students in districts the experience in identifying issues for legislation, bill writing, debating, bill presentation and participation in a legislative body. Meetings are on Mondays.  You can choose to come to the morning practice 8:00am-8:40am or after school practice from 3:45-5:00pm.  Contact Mrs. AB at jbruess@mckinneyisd.net

 

Poetry Slam

Contact Jamie Morris at jamorris@mckinneyisd.net

 

Robotics

Contact Charlie Goodman at charliegoodman@gmail.com

http://dowellabclub.weebly.com/

 

STEAM

Contact Vicki Mason at vmason@mckinneyisd.net